Oscar Predictions 2016

The time is nearly upon us once more, and people have been asking, so here is my Oscar picks for tonight’s big shindig. I’m putting up what I think will win and also what I hope will win.

Best Motion Picture of the Year – Nominees
The Big Short
The Martian
Brooklyn
The Revenant 
Bridge of Spies
Room
Mad Max: Fury Road
Spotlight
Prediction – Of the shortlisted nominees, I would have to say the best is probably The Big Short, but I doubt the Academy will recognise this, opting to give Spotlight the nod for Best Picture instead, but it will be run very closely to the gong by The Revenant.
Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role – Nominees
Bryan Cranston (Trumbo)
Michael Fassbender (Steve Jobs)
Matt Damon (The Martian)
Eddie Redmayne (The Danish Girl)
Leonardo Di Caprio (The Revenant)
Prediction – This one isn’t exactly rocket science. The push for Leonardo Di Caprio to grab his first Oscar had started well before the nominations were even released, and the nominees included in this category only amplify his claim. Of the nominees to choose from, Di Caprio is probably the most deserving, so we will probably be in agreement on this one, though I have seen better performances in the past twelve months that failed to make the cut.
Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role – Nominees
Cate Blanchett (Carol)
Charlotte Rampling (45 Years)
Brie Larson (Room)
Soairse Ronan (Brooklyn)
Jennifer Lawrence (Joy)
Prediction – I feel that this is a two horse race between Cate Blanchett and Jennifer Lawrence, both Oscar darlings. The Academy has long had a love affair with leading ladies from foreign (albeit English speaking) lands and of the performances between the two of them, Blanchett was captivating in Carol. Lawrence too was excellent in Joy, but Blanchett’s performance was, for me, without equal this year. I imagine the Academt well agree with me, but I’m predicting a win for Lawrence, just to keep it interesting. Left field mention for Rampling too, so if it’s a wistful evening, she may be in with a small shout.
Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role – Nominees
Christian Bale (The Big short)
Mark Rylance (Bridge of Spies)
Tom Hardy (The Revenant)
Sylvester Stallone (Creed)
Mark Ruffalo (Spotlight)
Prediction – Traditionally, Best Supporting Actor throws up a few surprises, so don’t be too shocked if Mark Rylance picks this up for Bridge of Spies. God help film-making everywhere if the tide of popular opinion is realised and Stallone picks it up for Creed, however. Christian Bale is my choice with Rylance a close second and think the academy will agree.
Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role – Nominees
Jennifer Jason Leigh (The Hateful Eight)
Alicia Vikander (The Danish Girl)
Rooney Mara (Carol)
Kate Winslet (Steve Jobs)
Rachel McAdams (Spotlight)

Prediction – Despite not being a big fan, I imagine this will go to Rooney Mara for Carol. If Blanchett is to win for Best Actress, it follows that Mara must at least win this pre-cursor to the big acting prize. If Spotlight is having a good night, it’s possible McAdams may surprise us all, but if I had the choice, I would pick Jennifer Jason-Leigh, if only to stick up two fingers to Hollywood in general.
Best Achievement in Directing – Nominees
Adam McKay (The Big Short)
Lenny Abrahamson (Room)
George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Tom McCarthy (Spotlight)
Alejandro González Iñárritu (The Revenant)

Prediction – This has Iñárritu all over it, if we’re honest and I will be surprised if it goes anywhere else. The direction was outstanding, truth be told, even if The Revenant was a little too long-winded and self-indulgent, in my opinion. Personally, I’d love to see McKay win it for The Big Short, but the tide is against him, I feel.
I’ll do the rest in as short a list as possible, as I really can’t be arsed doing it at all. What do you want, blood?
Award/Prediction/Personal Favourite
Best Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen/Spotlight/Ex Machina
Best Writing, Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published/Carol/The Big Short
Best Animated Feature/Inside Out/Anomalisa 
Best Achievement in Cinematography/The Revenant/The Hateful Eight
Best Achievement in Editing/Mad Max Fury Road/The Revenant
Best Achievement in Production Design/Mad Max Fury Road/The Martian
Best Achievement in Costumne Design/Carol/Carol
Best Achievement in Make-Up and Hairstyling/Mad Max Fury Road/Mad Max Fury Road
Best Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures, Original Score/Stars Wars The Force Awakens/The Hateful Eight
Best Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures, Original Song/Writing’s On The Wall/Earned It
Best Documentary/Amy/Amy 
Right folks, that’s your lot, so feel free to have a look and be sure to poke me tomorrow after the event to let me know what a complete pig’s ear I’ve made of the predictions. I’m not likely to be sitting up all night to see if I’m right, but I’ll be playing catchup tomorrow night to see just how wrong I was, as usual 😉 


 
 

 

from Blogger http://ift.tt/1n8PgOZ
via IFTTT

Leave a Reply

